Mary Reed and I celebrated our anniversary a couple of weeks ago.  We went out to dinner at Highlands and then went to see the Phantom of the Opera.

Highlands was excellent, as always ((Lots of people tell me that they think its overrated, and not really so great; to which I say – I may have had a better meal occasionally than one at Highlands, but I have never consistently had the perfection of the experience that I get at Highlands.  Simply great.)).

One of the highlights of this visit was that Frank Stitt himself prepared our meal.  I have seen him in the restaurant before, but that night I saw him walk out of the kitchen with the our plates in his hands and say something to the server who then brought the meal to the table.

We rounded out the night with Phantom of the (Birmingham) Opera.  It was… well, it wasn’t my thing.  Let’s just leave it at that.  The important part is that we had a great time together.

