The other day, while leaving the men’s room at work ((OK, OK, it wasn’t actually “while leaving,” it was while inside; but I really don’t like talking in the men’s room, especially at work.  It just doesn’t seem right.)) , the CIO of my company wondered aloud how automatic flushers are powered.  It seems, he continued, that running electrical circuits in such close proximity with the water (and in so many toilets) could be dangerous.  I replied that I had never really thought about it, but that his observation did make sense.

Great – so now I was curious, too.  So as not to abuse corporate internet-use policy, I did a search at home and discovered the secret – battery power.

I called him today, to tell him about it, and he laughed and laughed and laughed.  He was, I think, genuinely amused that I had not only looked up specifics and facts and figures, but also that I actually called him to tell him.

